Bihar State University Service Commission is constituted under Bihar State University Service Commission Act, 2017 (Bihar Act 21, 2017) vide notification no. L.G.01-23/2017/171/Leg. published in Bihar Gazette (extraordinary edition) bearing no. Patna 800001, dated 4th September, 2017, to make recommendation for the appointment of teachers (Professor, Associate Professor and Assistant Professor) in the University and Constituent Colleges of Bihar as prescribed under the Patna university Act, 1976 (Bihar Act 24, 1976) and the Bihar State University Act 1976 (Bihar Act 23, 1976) and in respect of appointment of teachers to discharge such functions as prescribed for the commission under the said Acts and the Statutes made thereunder. It is located at the 8th floor of Bihar Intermediate Education Council Building, Budh Marg, Patna-01. 


Dr. Rajvardhan Azad


Bihar State University Service Commission (BSUSC) is an autonomous body enacted by legislation of Bihar Govt. The Commission has been constituted to appoint university teachers at various levels viz. Assistant Professors, Associate Professors and Professor to improve the academic standard of the university in the entire state.
We, at Bihar State University Service Commission (BSUSC), strive to form transparent, unbiased and clear opinion regarding the performance of candidates so as to ensure meritocracy in the system.
Our staff is geared up to face the mammoth challenge to systematise the whole process of selection beginning with receiving the vacancy, advertisement, interview, call letter generation etc to preparation of result as per merit list.
 The whole process of selection is online and, therefore, chances of error are minimal and percentage of accuracy is very high, notwithstanding computer malfunctioning and error.
I hope, we will be able to work for upliftment of the standard of higher education in the state and thereby strengthen the existing educational values and credentials.
 With best wishes.
(Prof. Dr. Rajvardhan  Azad)



1. Rajiv Prasad Singh Ranjan - Member

Rtd IAS, Ex-Director, secondary education, Education Dept. Govt. of Bihar


2. Dr. Upendra Nath Verma -  Member

Professor, Chemistry Dept. (M.U., Bodh Gaya)

Dr. Upendra NathVerma is a Professor of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry at University Dept. of Chemistry, Magadh University, Bodhgaya. Presently he is Member of Bihar State University Service Commission, Patna. He was awarded Gold Medal at M.Sc. stage and Ph.D. from Magadh University, Bodhgaya. He is active in research related to thermal properties of complex compounds. He has published more than three dozen research papers in National and International Journals. He has presented several research papers in India and abroad in conferences and visited fourteen countries. Fifteen research scholars have been awarded Ph.D. degree under his supervision. He also served Magadh University as Inspector of Colleges (Sc) and as Coordinator, College Development Council. He is also a writer of two chemistry books.

3. Dr. Vijoy Kant Das - Member

Professor and Ex- Head, P.G. Department of English (T.M.B.U, Bhagalpur)

Basically a Professor of English at TM Bhagalpur University specialises in Comparative Literature. He has published research papers in Journals and presented papers in academic meets. He also guided research work for Ph.D. degree.  He also worked as Principal, TNB College, Bhagalpur, Registrar, TNB Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur, and Pro Vice Chancellor of Central University of Jharkhand, Ranchi. He is also active in social work through NGO's specifically in the field of education. 

4. Dr. Ashok Kumar - Member

Ex-Joint Secretary Finance Department, Govt. of Bihar

Dr. Ashok Kumar has Post Graduate degree in Political Science and History with Doctoral degree in Political Science. He was in Bihar Administrative Service for 32 years and was also a Member of Bihar Public Service Commission. He has strong Literary taste since his student life. He has frequently published in eminent journals like Dinman and Ravivar. He loves to participate in different programmes on the All India radio. His articles have also been published in Jansatta, Dainik Jagaran, Hindustan, Dainik Bhaskar etc.

5. Umesh Chandra Biswas -  Member

Ex-special Secretary, Vigilance Department, Govt. of Bihar

He has been a Bihar Administrative service officer for 25 years until He retired on 31st Jan, 2019. Before this he worked in Reserve Bank of India for 3 years. As an administrator he has varied experience in the field as well as in positions where policies are conceived and framed. In his responsibility in the Commission, he will apply his wide administrative experience and knowledge in the evaluation of candidates.

6. Dr. Usha Prasad - Member

Professor & Ex- Head Department of History, College of commerce, Arts and Science, Patliputra University, Patna

Dr Usha Prasad

Dr. Usha Prasad is a Professor of History at Pataliputra University, Patna. Presently she is a member of Bihar State University Service Commission, Patna. In 1987 she was awarded gold medal at M.A. level by Meerut University. She has done her M.Phil and Ph.D from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. She has supervised many research scholars for Ph.D. She has participated in various National and International conferences and seminars. Many of her articles have been published in different journals, magazines and newspapers. She has also authored two books.